Valais region, CH

The canton of Valais (VS, in German: Kanton Wallis) is one of the 26 cantons of Switzerland. It is composed of 13 districts and its capital is Sion. Its flag bears 13 red and white stars representing the districts of the canton on a white and red background. Valais is the ninth largest canton in Switzerland by population and the third largest by area. It is divided between the French-speaking part of Switzerland and the German-speaking part of the country, and borders the cantons of Bern and Vaud to the north, Uri and Ticino to the east, France to the west and Italy to the south. The territory of the canton mainly follows the Rhone Valley to Lake Geneva and lies in the Swiss Alps, making Valais one of the three Alpine cantons of Switzerland along with Graubünden and Ticino. It is a major tourist destination, renowned for its many Alpine resorts, such as Crans-Montana, Verbier and Zermatt, and its mountains, the Matterhorn having become an emblem of the canton.

Contact us!